Roles


Table of Contents
  1. About Roles
  2. Creating Roles
  3. Assigning Permissions to Roles

About Roles

Roles (also known as User Groups) allow you to organize your system's user accounts. Each role can also be assigned with a certain set of permissions that are automatically transfered upon all users that are assigned with a given role.

One user can have more than one role, and if that is the case, rules assigned for any of the roles are additive.

To assign a role to a user locate a user in the Users Module and set a Role using the multiple selection Roles field.

Creating Roles

To create a role, navigate to the Roles module using the Sidebar Menu > Permission Settings > Roles link, and fill-in the System Name and Title fields.

System Name value will be used in the API returns, and the Title field will be used as a human-readable role name.

Creating a role will clear the permissions cache afterwards.

Only super-administrators are allowed to edit roles.

Assigning Permissions to Roles

Using the Roles module, yYou can check or uncheck any of the existing permission or restriction rules that you want to be applied to the selected role.

If you don't see the required permission or restriction rule, you can use the Permission Generator tool to create a new rule.

Remember to save the Role entry to apply the selection.

Modifying a role will clear the permissions cache afterwards.

Sign-up to stay informed about news and updates.